Previous Next
Annual Competitions

By Bob Langford.

On Wednesday 21st November, 2018 some 60 members, partners and guests gathered at the Kamo Club for our annual display and competition of members’ work, prize giving and Xmas dinner. Although the number of pieces presented by members for display in the various categories was down on previous years the quality of work on display was of a high standard.

This year our judge of the work presented in each of our 14 categories was Rolly Munro who has now settled in Northland.

Also, our honoured guest for the evening was NAW Vice President, Trefor Roberts. Trefor complimented members on the quality of their work stating “what‘s on display matches anything I have seen on my visit to other club displays”. He also hilighted the quality of the NAW magazine Creative Wood and drew our members attention to the benefits of belonging to the NAW.

As Co-President, Don Coutts presented winners with their trophies and certificates. Judge Rolly Munro then explained to each winner why he selected each piece.



Small Bowls (21 pieces displayed)

  • Winner: Don Coutts
  • 2nd Murray Robertson

Murray, Don and Rolly


Large Bowl (13 pieces displayed)

  • Winner Neil Ruddell
  • 2nd Murray Robertson


Plate (10 pieces displayed)

  • Winner Murray Kell
  • 2nd Camilla Harmston



Platter (9 pieces displayed)

  • Winner Murray Robertson
  • 2nd Noliene Greig



Hollow Form (5 pieces displayed)

  • Winner Hayden Bourke
  • 2nd Hayden Bourke



Furniture (2 pieces displayed)

  • Winner Peter Strong
  • 2nd Roger Pye


Vase (7 pieces displayed)

  • Winner Mike Noone
  • 2nd Sid Ware


Lidded Box (7 pieces displayed)

  • Winner Peter Strong
  • 2nd Camilla Harmston


Free Form Artistic (8 pieces displayed)

  • Winner Don Coutts
  • 2nd Neil Ruddle


Spindle Turning (3 pieces displayed)

  • Winner Camilla Harmston
  • 2nd Jim Maloney


Miniature (2 pieces displayed)

  • Winner Sid Ware
  • 2nd Sid Ware


Jewellery (4 pieces displayed)

  • Winner Bob Langford
  • 2nd Bob Langford


Miscellaneous (14 pieces displayed)

  • Winner Neil Ruddell
  • 2nd Mike Noone


Members’ Popular Choice Piece

  • Murray Robertson’s platter


First Time Winner’s Trophy

  • Camilla Harmston

Northland Woodturners & Woodworkers Club

©Copyright 2016 - Website made by LS Services